Blog Six – Passage Analysis

I’m not just saying this for ease or laziness, but the second passage is the only part of the reading that truly stands out to me, mostly because I have had the feelings it talks about numerous times. It relates directly to me because of all the times that the aspects of death and mortality have been around me, with the recent passing of my grandpa. Before that though, his death was never in my mind, even though he was pushing seventy, was now a dozen different pills, and had to do dialysis. He always seemed fine and full of life. I could tell for him as well that his death was in his mind whatsoever. When he did die, it was such a surprise to everyone, because was never something that came to mind.

What I’m trying to get at is the fact that this passage is just so relatable to anybody. This is what makes it good at portraying the fact that everyone dies. It makes you realize that life isn’t forever because of the wording and constancy that it provides. The passage is especially good when it says “Also because someone else’s mortality reminds us all too vividly of our own” (Cable, 2002, Page 1) because this is what people feel when they lose someone close to them. For almost a month after my grandpa’s death, I was constantly thinking of what’s after life and having some existential crises.

This passage is so strong because it connects to you and gets what the general public feels when loss happens. The writer gets what goes through our heads.

(Word count: 268)

Leave a comment